Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

The Cost of Procrastination

The day before registration was slated to open for the Sylamore 50K trail run,  I saw a facebook post that anyone interested should be at the ready with their paypal account signed on at least 5 minutes before sign up was scheduled to start.  The race sold out in a matter of hours last year. So about 15 minutes after online sign ups started, I was sitting out on my in laws deck, relaxing in the sunshine instead of sitting at the computer.

When I went to register at 20 minutes after opening, I couldn’t get in. The race sold out in less than 30 minutes. Ugh. I’ve heard such great things about this race, from the great atmosphere to the toughness of the course to the unpredictable weather which in February could be ice and snow or cold rain or if you hate cold weather and you’re lucky, it could be warm enough to wear shorts. You just never know. The thing that doesn’t change is the rugged course, on trails rife with rocks, stream crossings and other challenges.

I’m not even sure why I was considering it. I am having difficulty finding the time to train as it is and have my first road marathon scheduled for the end of December with a second one slated for March and now a repeat of the Ouachita Trail 50K in April. Do I honestly believe that running that kind of distance once a month for 4 months is a good idea?  Of course I do.

running ee

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think