Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Flowers Can’t Talk

The contest is closed and we have our winners. Don’t miss the show this weekend Friday February 21 – Sunday February 23

Alice: Oh, but that’s nonsense. Flowers can’t talk.

The Rose: But of course we can talk, my dear.

Orchid: If there’s anyone around worth talking to.

Daisy: Or about.

Ingredients for a Beautiful Tablescape

Ingredients for a Beautiful Tablescape

Giveaway tickets were provided by the Arkansas Flower and Garden Show. All opinions expressed here are my own.

Of course they can talk, flowers can say so much about us. Years ago when my sweetness and I were on one of our first dates, we were at the Arkansas Arts Center playing that game, “what do you see?”, while trying to get to know one another. We came across a painting of a pansy with a face. The title card said Self Portrait of Morris as a Flower. To this day we refer to pansies as Morris. Sweetness turned to me and asked, “if you were a flower, what flower would you be?” Without hesitation I answered “venus flytrap”. Two extraordinary things happened after that: he didn’t even blink and he asked me out again. He continues to be a very brave man.

Earlier this week I was invited to join a group of my favorite blog writing gals from Arkansas Women Bloggers for a kick-off shindig celebrating the upcoming Arkansas Flower and Garden Show. Colonial Wine and Spirits was on hand to provide a lovely array of wines to pair with scrumptious food while we learned about this year’s theme from some of the Arkansas Flower and Garden Show board members.

Gardening: That’s Entertainment

It is true that more and more of us our opening our homes to the outdoors with decks, french doors, large patios and outdoor kitchens. We’re taking the indoors outdoors and still bringing the outdoors in when we arrange fresh flowers, plants, branches or found objects into our decorations.

Chris Olsen of Botanica Gardens was there to help me hear what the flowers had to say to me and what they said was “even a few cut flowers from the grocery can make a room feel like an adventure awaits, or can soothe a restless spirit, or provide a conversation starter.” That’s what they said to me. After a quick lesson in tablescaping and how to “jhemajang”, his own personal version of arranging/changing/ assembling with PIZAZZ, Chris  reminded us that even if we’ve owned tchotchkes or momentos for years, moving things around keeps life interesting and we wouldn’t want to be bored now would we? I swear I’m going to figure out a way to make a vase or flower pot out of the running medals that are in my drawer. I’m sure there’s a photo on Pinterest somewhere.

The Arkansas Flower and Garden Show has become an annual mother-daughter tradition for me and my mom, the gardener. She humors me and my not quite black but more of a gray-green thumb. If you have a gardener in your life, take them to the show and check out some of the great offerings that will help you decorate and entertain even if you aren’t a Master Gardener. I picked up this great swag from show vendor The Good Earth Garden Center

20140207-111227.jpg

If you’d like to learn more about planting and gardening in Arkansas as well as get design and decore inspiration, consider attending the show on one or all three days of the big event February 21-23. Check out the schedule of great events and demonstrations on their website and plan to visit the Good Earth and many other area vendors like Antique Brick and Outdoors and Horticare at the show. Not only will you learn, but you’ll be helping others learn as well since proceeds from the show go to college scholarships in horticulture and and help fund The Greening of Arkansas grant program providing resources for community beautification projects around the state.

A huge thanks goes to Colonial Wine and Spirits, the Arkansas Flower and Garden Show Board of Directors and Chris Olsen for entertaining a large group of photo snapping, giggling and social media addicted women. You get to reap some of the reward too. I have three pair of one day passes to the show to give away.

Comment by clicking the comment box at the top right of this post. Tell us your favorite flower, feel free to include what that flower says to you, and three random winners will get a pair of tickets that will open the door to new ways to enhance the beauty in their lives with flowers. Winners will be announced on Friday February 14th just in time to share with someone you love.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Flowers Can’t Talk

  1. Claibanne on said:

    My favorite flower is a violet, but not just any violet – those little purple flowers that pale little fingers bring to their Momma from that not so perfect yard. My Mom wrote about those violets I brought her so many, many times through the years. On spring afternoons at the park they were tucked into her pocket; picked at Church, and pressed into her Bible; at hot picnics, the purple flowers withered and covered in mustard; a hidden lavender sprig was tucked into her purse.

    I’m not sure if I was drawn to these random little flowers that grew in the cracks of sidewalks, in clumps of clover, in grand gardens, or if it was just by chance, but as I grew older, in all their many forms, violets captivated me as a reminder of the connection between my Mom and I.

    A simple tussie mussie tucked into my wedding bouquet as I walked down the aisle and kissed her check, signified I was still her little girl. As we sent her off in her traveling dress, a posey was tucked into her hands with a simple message that I’ll always be true and remember. As the years go by, Momma, my pale, pale hands still bring you violets, if only to be laid against the marble.

  2. I have always loved jonquils (daffodils to my northern cousins). What they say to me is Spring is here, love is here!! I remember my Dad grabbing a handful to bring in to my Mom and how happy it made her at his thoughtfulness. This big ole teddy bear of a man bringing those yellow flowers that would set in a place of honor on her kitchen table passed away last April during the time they were in bloom. Yet the lessons he taught to me and my brother still are living in my heart, put God first in your life and the rest will fall into place. I also remember going to my grandmother’s and choosing some for her (out of her own yard) yet leaving enough so that others passing by could appreciate their beauty also. My daughter was born in March and I always assoicate her birthday with jonquils, and have pictures of her picking them for me and my mom when she was only 2 at the time. As we share this spring season together I cherish the flowers that symbolize a sunny day and pure love.

  3. I love lilies. To me they say, “Spring is here! It’s the beginning of something wonderful!” They were also the dominant flower in my flower arrangements at my wedding. It really was the beginning of something wonderful!

  4. My favorite flower is the iris because it reminds me of my childhood. We had beautiful irises in the flowery bed at home.
    Spam | Trash

  5. Pingback: Arkansas Flower & Garden Show - Arkansas Women Bloggers — Arkansas Women Bloggers

Tell Me What You Think

