Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Do Groundhogs Like Big Ass Beers?

Dear February,

You are THE month of love. Not that other months shouldn’t be for love too but you, you are special. You begin with the all important worship of the furry thing that predicts our future weather happiness or despair. Look, I don’t mind winter all that much, in fact I kind of appreciate our southern version of winter: the occasional snow day mixed with 60 degree days. I love that I went out for a run on February 1st wearing short sleeves and capris but could have even gone for shorts if I’d wanted to. Then the very next day I had to wear a heavy raincoat in the wintry mix of sleet and rain to run errands as I waited impatiently for the line of snow that blanketed areas just a few miles away with a beautiful layer of white. It never came. Damn you cold front line! All you gave me was scary thunder sleet. And to top it off, we skipped a chance to socialize over that ridiculous event others call a football match but we call the brand bowl, just because of the crappy weather forecast. The groundhog didn’t see his shadow, he was scared back into his hole by that freaky thunder sleet.

My consolation? The month began with a post River Trail 15K run Big Ass Beer with my girls and a burrito the size of my head, not to mention a pound of fresh chorizo from the market side of the restaurant my running crew lovingly refers to as Mexican Shithole.

Cerveza, por favor

Cerveza, por favor

Incredible food, great service, and big ass Corona Familiar, la cerveza mas fina. Mas fina indeed. If the groundhog is afraid of thunder sleet, I bet a big ass beer would get him to come out of his hole. So I appreciate what IRunToDrink has to say about runners and drinkers but what I want to know is, after we run, who wants to drink with me?

20140204-110916.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

