Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

I Don’t Beat My Wife

The other day we’re sitting at a table in the middle of the Little Rock Climbing Center talking to a couple of friends from Ouachita Outdoor Outfitters about how in the world the man and I got caught up in this whole idea of Arkansas Outside. The concept seemed practical a couple of years ago. We were participating in a lot of events ourselves and writing race reports or blogging about them anyway, how hard could it be? We had know idea. It’s brutal. This month I will be spending exactly one weekend sleeping in my own bed. I don’t mean that I spend a single night of a weekend away from home, I mean for 3 weekends in a row, I will sleep Friday and Saturday nights in a lodge room with a roommate, in a tent with my family or in a hammock under the stars.

20130924-123252.jpg

Somewhere in between going to, writing about, taking pictures of, participating in and trying to continue to train for races, we try to have a life not immersed in bike grease, dirty chamois or discussions of missing toenails. We often fail.

So while trying to explain the hectic schedule of day-jobs, family life and Arkansas Outside, and to explain how I ended up in this boat that is always in the midst of a maelstrom with my spouse instead of it being HIS project as was initially planned, the man decided the best explanation was one that gives insight into how our marriage works.

“I don’t beat my wife, I just sign her up for 50K’s.”

45K and still smiling

45K and still smiling

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

