Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

The Dreaming

I love quotes that wake me up, that force me to be sentient of what is happening in my life. This morning I saw this quote re-posted on the Facebook wall of a woman I admire and it struck me in a way it never has before.

Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined. ~Henry David Thoreau

Which then made me think of

Deep into that darkness peering, long I stood there, wondering, fearing, doubting, dreaming dreams no mortal ever dared to dream before. ~Edgar Allan Poe

I find myself at the ripe old age of 4mumblemumble5ishmumblesigh still wondering, still fearing, still doubting. I look into that darkness every day and catch myself wondering if the life I lead is the fulfillment of my dreams or is there more? Those thoughts aren’t necessarily bad, we all want things in life, we all want more no matter what we have in the here and now. No, what disturbs me more than anything is that while I wallow in this place of wonder, fear and doubt, I am responsible for leading another soul through this life. My deepest wish for her is that she is able to Go Confidently in the Direction of Her Dreams. How do I teach her to reach for the stars when my feet are so firmly planted on earth?

I hope your dreams are as big as your heart

I hope your dreams are as big as your heart

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “The Dreaming

  1. your little one is teaching you things too. delight in her. follow her carefree spirit up up UP!

  2. Yes. The delight is sometimes hidden but never far from the surface.

  3. The thing about us 20-somethings is we need grounded people to help us navigate. And you 4mumblemumble5ishmumblesigh-somethings need us flighty folks to help you see that we all really can do the unthinkable. It’s a balance. And it’s beautiful. So be the ground for her, and let her be your new wings. 🙂

  4. Profound Ashten. I will no longer need red bull, I have daughter.

  5. This is a beautiful post 🙂 It reminds me that no matter the age, we all still have dreams and we all still effect the people (family) around us. 🙂

  6. You are teaching her well! The fact that you are asking these questions of yourself tells me that you are still dreaming and reaching.

Tell Me What You Think

