Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Hulk RUN! Hulk SMASH!

I took a What’s Your Superhero Personality? Test.

Your results:
You are Hulk

Hulk
80%
Wonder Woman
77%
The Flash
70%
Catwoman
70%
Supergirl
67%
Spider-Man
65%
Superman
55%
Batman
55%
Green Lantern
55%
Iron Man
55%
Robin
42%
You are a wanderer with
amazing strength.


Click here to take the Superhero Personality Test

I’m not usually one to indulge in these types of surveys, in fact I routinely ignore them but a couple of things happened last week that got me to thinking about Superheroes.

First, someone posted a photo of superhero socks on Facebook. I have a friend who is well known for her collection of tall socks which she proudly displays on her shapely calves throughout the Cyclocross and Mountain Bike racing seasons. Of course I had to share the info with her and we hatched plans about how to put superhero socks to good use.

Capes for your Calves

And then, the Little Rock Marathon announced the theme for the 2014 race. It’s going to be “EPIC”, calling all Superheroes.

I couldn’t count the number of times I have said “I have no interest in ever running a road marathon.” I’m not a fan of pavement running. I have knee issues with distance running on the road and I’ve narrowed the cause to running on banked angles and rhythmic pounding both of which are unavoidable in a big race when the crowd determines your path and to a degree, your pace. But. I want to be a Superhero. I want to wear a costume and feel like I can fly or smash things or look hot while piloting my invisible plane which I never understood since the invisible plane didn’t make her invisible, she just looked like she was squatting in the sky. Whatever. I want in. I’ll end up being the goober with no real power standing on the street corner yelling “SPOON!” But that’s okay, it’ll be a lot like real life that way.

Several of my friends who have also SWORN they would never marathon or never marathon again have caught the bug. I’d say the Little Rock Parks and Recreation Chicks in Charge have managed to pull off a miracle  with next year’s theme. Or maybe their super power is the Power of Persuasion. Registration opens tomorrow, August 1st, and the marathon is expected to sell out quickly. The next few days will show just how powerfully persuasive the CICs are.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

