Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Biker Chicks

Riding with the Girls

Riding with the Girls

I haven’t been riding my bike much lately. I’m not sure when or if I made a conscious decision to hang up my wheels. I’m pretty sure I just lost the joy. My usual riding partner recently got a new mountain bike. I won’t say that my own lack of saddle time didn’t contribute to the breakdown of our riding relationship, let’s just say it made it even harder than ever to keep up and that’s just no fun. When I was riding regularly, I was not only able to keep up but to lead sometimes. Not so much these days. I’m the caboose, huffin & puffin just tryin to hang on. When I got an invite to go out on a ladies only ride meant for beginners but open to all, how could I resist? My friend Laura who has been trying to get me to race was the leader/instigator. The plan was to ride a 1.7 mile beginner trail, hook in to a trail through a field over to a slightly more technical loop for a couple of miles then return for another lap of the easy trail. The pace was fast enough that I felt like I was skill building but not so fast that I was struggling to breathe in the hot thick soupy Arkansas air. I was having fun. Oh lord I rediscovered the joy.

Pre Ride Smiles

Pre Ride Smiles

I enjoyed that ride so much that I rode with the man later that same week after work. Twice. TWICE. And then rode with the girls again. Seriously, that meant I had been on my mountain bike more in the span of 8 days than I have been in the past 8 months.

Riding through the wildflower field

Riding through the wildflower field

Thanks to the ladies, I’ve rediscovered a little happiness in my fat tires. Sometimes, it just takes a little nudge to get us where we need to be. Be someone’s nudger this week. Remind someone who hasn’t been to your group run/ride/climb/workout/yoga class/whatever you’re into, that they are missed.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Biker Chicks

  1. Pingback: Wheeling Women — Arkansas Outside

Tell Me What You Think

