Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Running with the Hash

The goals of the Hash House Harriers according to a 1950 club registration:

  • to promote physical fitness among our members
  • to get rid of weekend hangovers
  • to acquire a good thirst and to satisfy it in beer
  • to persuade the older members that they are not as old as they feel

If you have ever heard your local “Hashers” described as a Drinking Club with a Running Problem, the description probably fits. What you might not realize is they are just as likely to be accomplished athletes: champion ultra-runners, triathletes and track record holders. They are also professionals: nurses, psychologists, statisticians and soldiers. And they like to drink beer. They like to drink a lot of beer. And they like to be naughty. They like to sing naughty songs and chastise other members for rule infractions by calling them naughty names and singing naughty songs about them. Fortunately these are things I can appreciate in a group of people I’d like to hang out with.

I’ve just returned from my third Hash run and I see many more in my future. One of my introductory runs was the Humpin’ Hash Run, a Wednesday night short run that could also be characterized as a pub run. I chronicled the event via Instagram in honor of my brand new Karhu shoes that I won in Rock City Running’s grand opening giveaway.

It starts with Chili's

It starts with Chili’s

It also involved running through a few residential yards and a Church playground where I stopped to play with a pony.

20130628-142714.jpg

and ended with you guessed it, a beer.

Post Run Beer

Post Run Beer


My “will run for beer” moments have been greatly enhanced by my friend Cassandra who convinced me that I really should give Hash a try. She was right. And as she said after her bucket list cross off of drinking from a plastic flamingo, known as the Flambongo, “you had no idea this was what was missing from your life!” Indeed, Cass, indeed.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

