Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Swimming Babies

Besides that whole wearing diapers in the pool thing, I have concerns about swimming babies.

True story:

A few years ago I was at a local swimmin’ hole where the water is murky brown, the bottom is sandy and the patrons wear cut-offs with pride. I was in water about 4 ft. deep near a family that included a mom, dad, an infant, a couple of older kids and grandparents. I watched as two of the adults seemed to pass the infant between them but then the infant was free in the water and the adults were continuing to laugh and talk. I thought to myself “Oh that’s cool, they’ve taught their baby how to swim”. Her little arms and legs were pumping and it looked like she was swimming to me. But it went on too long for my comfort, the adults weren’t even looking at her. As I uttered the first syllable of “ex-” as in “excuse me”, the grandmother realized that the baby was drowning. She screamed and snatched the baby out of the water. By this time, the baby had been under water for at least 2 minutes. Why didn’t I say something sooner? Why would I assume that the baby was “swimming”? Because I’ve seen to many of these videos.

Luckily the baby seemed to be fine. Grandma patted her back and the baby sputtered a bit while the other adults totally freaked out. And I went home with a guilty feeling of “what if?” What if they hadn’t noticed the baby when they did? What if I had waited longer to say anything or swam away? Why was it so hard to tell she wasn’t swimming on her own? Because we’ve been trained by youtube, TV and movies to think that babies can swim and a drowning is dramatic and unmistakable. Wrong. This is what you need to know about a drowning person.

Be safe out there this summer y’all. And if you think someone might be in trouble, it doesn’t hurt to check it out.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

