Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Marathon Amnesia

20130424-154354.jpg

Two days after my first ever marathon, which just so happened to be a 50K not “just” a marathon, and on trail no less, and I was already anticipating fitting another one or two into our hectic summer schedule. Since I have never run a road marathon, I’m not sure what the difference would be between that experience and my experience last Saturday. Yes, I took it slow especially in the beginning for many reasons, sorry Ashley, hope the knee is healing. No, I never felt like I was testing my limits. And at Mile 22 I did not feel like I was going to die. Nor at mile 27. At mile 29 I might have felt some pain, but was it unbearable? No. Given that I spent almost twice as long out on that trail as I would have expected from myself in a road marathon, would a road marathon be harder or easier? I doubt I’ll ever find out. I hate road running. I don’t hate people who love it, I just know it’s not for me. I need the dirt and the mud, I need to smell the trees and the grass, obviously I need to sneeze or that last one wouldn’t be true. I want to hear the water running in creeks and streams. I want to carefully pick my way over boulder fields and rock gardens. This is what makes my feet and my heart sing. So yes, I’ve already forgotten any pain that I felt even though I have one toenail hanging on by the thinnest thread, like a spiderweb that’s been stretched by the first morning hiker, it is GOING to come undone. I wish it would hurry up. I have running to do and more trail to explore.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Marathon Amnesia

  1. The broken and missing toenails are the worst thing about trail running. Im trying to get over my fear of running alone because I love being on the trails. Its just so different than road running.

Tell Me What You Think

