Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

In the Face of Evil

I had a post almost ready to go out about my incredible run on Saturday. But today my story seems like a speck of dust in the universe. Yesterday as I was reading the news, watching my twitter feed, reading Facebook pages, my heart was breaking for those in Boston. This thrilling and happy occasion, the culmination of months or years of preparation, now destroyed forever by a senseless act of violence. I imagine the guilt of runners whose family members and friends were there at the finish line, waiting to cheer them in. I imagine the frustration of those stopped just short of the finish when they still had no idea what was happening. I imagine the horror mixed with relief of those who had finished minutes before the explosions. I imagine the terror of those at home when they saw the news but couldn’t reach their loved ones. But I watched as people rush back into the danger zone to protect and shield a 78 year old runner knocked down by the blast. I saw first responders in uniform and volunteers in bright vests hurrying to do what they could to aid and protect those around them. I watched social media outlets explode with news and contact pages to help those in Boston communicate with loved ones. I watched running groups spread the news quickly of the safety of their crews. And in the face of evil I see Patton Oswalt’s words.

The good outnumber you, and always will.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

