Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Stifle Yourself Edith

Forgive me running shoes, it has been 4 1/2 weeks since my last long run. I haven’t wanted to admit it to myself or anyone else since I was in the important phase of training for my longest run ever when it happened. An injury.

20130410-073601.jpg

I’m kind of known for turning my ankles. It happens too often. It happened a few months ago in the backyard when I stepped on a dog bone buried in the leafy detritus. It happened three weeks before I attempted my longest and coldest Adventure Race. It happened just walking down the street and I wasn’t even wearing heels. It happened three and a half weeks ago on what should have been an easy warmup run that resulted in cutting my mileage to 1/3 of the plan for the day. So here I am with 2 1/2 weeks till my first 50K, under-trained and under-confident and up till now, attempting to hide it. I’m trying to play it off like I’m not worried. I haven’t been inactive by any means, I’ve just been doing things other than long runs to avoid repetitive motion on that ankle but that lack of long distance training is worrying. Every time one side of my brain starts worrying and filling the space with negative thoughts, somewhere else in my head a little Archie Bunker voice yells “Stifle yourself there, Edith!”

20130410-073535.jpg

I had planned on doing this 50K with, or at least in the same general area give or take a few miles as my friend Ashley. She fractured a toe running a road marathon a month ago and got put on the injured list too. We are going to be a fine pair. She has said that even if we have to finish leaning on each other, we are DOING THIS. She’s much taller and a faster runner than I am so my best hope is that my endurance and ability to eat while jogging will have us together for at least parts of the last few miles if she takes enough rest breaks. When we hit the road again for the last 3 miles, I fully expect her to leave me in her dust so she can be there to cheer me in. I’m selfish like that.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Stifle Yourself Edith

  1. *Two thumbs down*
    I hope its better in time for your race. My worst fear leading up to my big race was being injured.

    • I ran a whole mile tonight. A whole mile! We’ll see. I can walk for sure, speed hiking won’t be much slower than my jogging!

  2. Been there. Turned ankles are a bummer! Listen to your body and do what you feel is best. Come race day, I hope you’re fresh and good to go!

  3. Oh no, I hope it’s better in time for the 50k! Do you think you’ll run with a brace or something?

    • I’ll start with a brace and wear it as long as it doesn’t rub or irritate. I’ve been wearing one for other workouts. It’s going to be fine. And if it’s not? I’ll just have to sign up for another one.

Tell Me What You Think

