Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Tabata Timer

Interval Circuit Training workouts are the routine at my current location of choice for group fitness classes. The trainer is there with a stopwatch calling out the interval of 20, 30 or 60 seconds and warning us when we take too long to get to the next station. This week there was a day when I was the only person in the gym other than the trainer. It’s 5:30 a.m. so it is not unheard of that our already small crew withers to one or two on any given day. We’re all older, have families, jobs with bank hours, etc. To keep me company and to give himself a workout, the trainer decided to do the workout with me. As he struggled with the normal stopwatch gadget I said “Hey, I’ve got something that will help.”

I have a Tabata Pro timer App on my iPhone. Tabata circuits are short bursts of one exercise, quickly moving to another, often repeating multiple rounds of a set of exercises. The workout for this particular day was 45 seconds of WORK with 15 seconds of REST (or rather getting set up to do the next exercise, that’s the only REST you get). The list of exercises included 3 Rounds of:

1-Pushups 2-Inverted Rows using TRX straps 3-Thrusters (front squat with barbell shoulder press in one motion) 4-Warrior Rope 5- Pushups with hands on a raised platform 6-Plank 7- Plate Press 8- Lateral Plyo Jumps over a foam block 9- Treadmill Jog set at a high incline

I showed Danny my App and set it for the workout parameters including a 5 second warning at the start and finish of each 45 second period. He could do the workout with me without fumbling with the stopwatch and it kept the timing right instead of worrying about having to manually set and reset the watch.

20130301-122853.jpg

I have the App on my phone to use at home. I have several workouts that I can do at work or at home by myself with my Tabata Pro timer as my coach. It’s super easy to set up and it has other features that are great for at home use like the Workout DJ that plays your selected playlist while you workout and will even pause the music or lower the volume during the transitions from rest to work.

20130301-122947.jpg

Another great function that I find useful is Blink. The screen flashes when it’s about to change from rest to work or back so even if you’re having trouble hearing it but you can see it, you have alternative time warning. I had no trouble hearing the beep of the 5 second Prepare to Work Warning, or the App voice telling me to WORK! So preset your favorite heart pumping playlist, choose the length of your interval, choose your number of tabatas and cycles, and get to it.

There are several other Tabata Timer Apps for both iPhone and Android phones. I downloaded the Tabata Pro because it was A)free B)had good reviews and C) it looked easy to use in the preview. It was easy and I’m looking forward to using it at home often.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

