Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

The Beat of the Universe

The goal of life is to make your heartbeat match the beat of the universe, to match your nature with Nature.
Joseph Campbell

Last night on the way home from work ( I carpool and my sweetheart picks me up from the meeting spot every day) I said, “look, I didn’t get you anything for Valentine’s Day. If you want to stop at Dunkin on the way home, I’ll buy you those heart shaped donuts.”

Runnin on Dunkin

Runnin on Dunkin

I realize this is a totally inappropriate photo, purchase, admission, confession, whatever, for a blog about fitness but hey, we aren’t perfect. I run to eat and drink, I admit it. Often. It’s almost like a creed now. Or excuse. However you wish to see it.
For tonight I tried make something healthier than donuts.I saw it on that vortex of time suckage known as Pinterest. It’s a combination of two things really: yogurt covered strawberries and strawberry heart kabobs. But it didn’t work out so well. My attempt at covering the back of the strawberries became something of an experiment in dolloping. It was a globular mess. I had Kablobs.
Strawberry Heart Kablobs

Strawberry Heart Kablobs

This is kitchen double speak. I give them donuts, I give them fruit kabobs. I give them transfat, I give them no fat. I want them to be happy, I want them to be healthy. It’s a delicate balance isn’t it?

My husband has learned the art of balance well. For years, every special occasion was marked by a gift of athletic equipment. North Face jackets, new bike tires, running gear, and the like. I commented once that it would be nice to get something pretty every once in a while. So then it went the other way and I got jewelry for the next umpteen special days. He finally figured out how to balance the romantic with the practical and now tends to switch back and forth on the gear versus earrings giving. This year he figured out a way to give me something totally practical with a totally romantic twist. Years ago I gave him my heart. Every day since he finds ways to help me keep it strong and getting stronger. Apparently the man loves punishment and wants me to stick around a long time so he gave me a new Garmin Forerunner 210 with Heart Rate Monitor. Thump Thump. Thump Thump. I love you too. Thank you for understanding my need to match my nature with Nature and for needing the same.

20130214-124105.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

