Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Let’s Talk About Burpees

Burpees. Burpees, man. Burpees could be the most talked about body weight exercise in the social media sphere these days besides maybe box jumps. And by talked about I mean reviled and worshipped at the same time. Loved/Hated. T-shirts with either Burpees Suck or I ❤Burpees are readily available on the Internet. There are YouTube videos describing all the ways to perform said Burpee, with or without the push-up, modified by stepping instead of jumping into plank, etc.
I found this one on youtube that has several variations and the ones at the end…oh lordy I’m not sure I could do one of those!

I fall into the I ❤ Burpees camp. Not because I love doing them as much as because of how they make me FEEL. After 15 fast reps with the full push-up and jump, my legs are noodling, my arms a giving way and my heart is beating out of my chest. That’s a good thing, right? That’s the purpose of cardiovascular exercise. I expect to leave a training session knowing that I have pushed my body. It doesn’t have to be to balls the wall, lying on the floor or heaving into the corner bin every single time but I do appreciate a good sweat and to be lying on the floor thinking about heaving in a bin on occasion.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

