Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

The Fire Within

In the midst of my morning perusal of Facebook postings I came across a quote that hit home

Sky Above Me, Earth Below Me, Fire Within Me

Sky Above Me, Earth Below Me, Fire Within Me

We all go through periods when the Fire within needs to be stoked. It doesn’t matter what the Fire is: a relationship, a career or a fitness goal, the Fire has to be fueled or it dies. Right now my fire for working out is barely burning. There have been times when it’s been a signal fire and times when it’s gone down to glowing embers. I’m still getting it done including those weekend “long runs”.  But many days I feel as if I’m just going through the motions. The passion, the Fire, is a weak flame.
A couple of weeks ago Evolved Mommy, a blogger buddy,  sent me a friend request on RunKeeper. I ignored it. Sorry Stephanie. It isn’t that I don’t want to be her RunKeeper friend, it’s that I don’t have ANY Runkeeper friends. It’s not one of the tools I use to stoke my Fire. So I took an informal poll on my Facebook page about using phone App friends as workout inspiration. Most responses indicate that people feel more accountable when they know their “friends” are watching. Instead of it just being a friend who knows when you don’t meet up at the gym for a while, or they don’t see you at the weekly group run, you have a community of online cheerleaders who may not ever share a workout space with you.  I only use RunKeeper on my long runs to make sure I do the distance. I’m not using it to its full potential for training programs or for sharing my runs. I don’t share my runs on Facebook or Twitter except to maybe say “hey, I did ___miles today, did you get your workout in?” Am I missing opportunities to stoke the Fire in others and to find people who might help stoke mine when it wanes? Probably.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Fire Within

  1. I have been encouraged so many times by twitter, dailymile and even sometimes facebook friends to get a workout in when I was slacking. I feel more motivated when I see others continiung their training when mine is lacking.

  2. Pennie M on said:

    I only had a glowing ember around the holidays, and then I got sick which made it worse. Now that my flame is burning bright again, it helps me stay accountable when I post my workouts or how many miles I’ve ran or cycled. I have so many cheerleaders that inspire me and I only hope that I inspire others to get moving.

Tell Me What You Think

