Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Running with the Pack

20121221-110649.jpg

Some time ago I saw a post on the facebook page for the outdoor gear company Merrell about a group called The Pack. While I admit that I don’t own a huge number of Merrell products, I do appreciate the mission and the quality of the company and the products they sell. Their shoes are great and from my experience, will last longer than other brands put up to the test of active outdoor lives. This Pack is made up of people described as :

A wildly active community of outside athletes. We stand for performance. We stand together. Most of all, we stand for not standing around. Do you have the pack mentality?

Me,  I love outdoor spaces of all sorts. I love Arkansas’ natural beauty, I love her history, I love that within minutes of my home in the capital city I can walk into the lobby of a Repertory Theater or I can be riding my mountain bike on sweet singletrack or I can be riding my mountain bike to the lobby of a theater. We have miles of trails to choose from, everything from short local city park trails to the hundreds of miles along the Ouachita Mountain or Ozark Mountain ranges. I’ve had opportunities to travel a little and I understand why people love the Rockies or the Appalachians or why many think that nothing could be finer than a white sand beach. I’m not out climbing 14ers or ice walls, I’m not doing expedition length adventure races or multi-day mountain bike tours. I’m a mom, approaching middle age, with a career totally removed from outdoor recreation. Getting outside is what I do to stay sane. I get my feet dirty, I get my bike tires dirty. Playing outside and encouraging others to play outside is how I choose to spend time with my husband. Enjoying a good trail and the heat of a campfire is quality family time for us. I want to push myself, I want to be out there, if I’m standing still, it had better be to appreciate the beauty of a moment.

Family time around the fire

Family time around the fire

So could I be a member of the pack? Yeah I think my lifestyle fits the bill. I certainly hope so because not only did they let me in, but they sent me a very cool performance t-shirt with The Pack logo on it. I’ve worn it out on the trail and into the gym already. I think it’s going to become one of my go-to shirts so I can always be running with the pack.

20121223-143735.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

