Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

The Challenge

Last year I wrote a story for Arkansas Outside about the Ouachita Trail 50K/50mi Run. A couple of weeks prior, I had gone out for a long run along a portion of the Ouachita Trail that this race utilizes. I thought to myself, “I could do that”. Maybe. And then I got the phone call with news that the regular photographer had a family emergency, could I please come cover the race that day? Are you kidding? Spend the morning in one of my favorite places in Little Rock if not in the entire state cheering runners? Heck yeah I’ll do it.

I realized that even if registration for the event had been open, I was in no way prepared to even hike the 30 miles required, much less run as much of it as possible. But I knew it was something I wanted to try. Apparently not enough to actually train for it, but that leads to adventures like a 25k Trail Run in the dark. Which in turn did not lead to more training but instead to the belief that running the Cossatot River Corridor Half Marathon should be a breeze. I mean, it was 2 miles shorter AND in daylight.

I half kid about training. What I mean is, I don’t follow any kind of regimented schedule. I workout most days of the week, I strength train, I do circuits for both cardio and strength, I run occasionally and I bike occasionally. I train for my life, not for an event.

But now I’ve gone and gotten myself in a pickle. Last week registration opened for the Ouachita 50K/50mile Trail Run 2013 and I signed up for the 50K. I might have to start training.

Time to hit the trail

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The Challenge

  1. I am super impressed. That is a HUGE undertaking. Go get that trail!

  2. Pingback: Lord Give Me Love, Mercy and an Open Bar « Frenetic Fitness

  3. Pingback: What Am I Missing? | Frenetic Fitness

Tell Me What You Think

