Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

To the Core

Monday I didn’t get up in time for group class so I pulled out old reliable, Bob Harper’s Inside Out Method Pure Burn Strength Video.

Tuesday was all about hill intervals, 45 minutes to do as much uphill running as possible with the incline going up every 5 minutes.

Wednesday I gifted myself with  two workouts in one day. It wasn’t exactly intentional. In the morning I headed for my 5:30 a.m. group class. We had a CORE workout to warm up: 20 crunches, 20 push thrus, 30 toe touches at 45 degrees, 15 side crunches on each side and  a 1 minute iron cross hold

Then the cardio circuit of 45 seconds work:10 seconds rest for 5 rounds

Plate Floor to Ceiling: squatting the plate to the floor then up toward the ceiling like an olympic lift move

Burpees, the loved and hated burpees

Turkish Get Ups with light weight, 5lb for me. I switched sides each round instead of trying to split it

Kettle Bell Swings

and the Punching Bag

So three days, three decent workouts. Then I got to work and there was our annual Health Expo going on with reps from all our insurance options and some local “health” organizations.  I look forward to it because the local medical center affiliated fitness club is always here with a body fat scale. This year they also decided to have someone demonstrate one of their newer classes, the CRWORX™.  I decided to go try it out, thinking  “it’s only 20 minutes…” So how many times have I said “oh, it’s only 20 minutes” and then had to use the bars in the restroom to be able to sit down the next day? Not so much the legs, but my CORE is ripped up today. I have to say I’m a little shocked. I shouldn’t be but I am. Was it the two in one day core workouts? Is it the progression of the three days catching up to me? Because I have to tell you if you don’t think running uphill works your core like mad, you’re wrong. Whatever the reason, I’m feeling it.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

