Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Mummies, Eyeballs and Creepy Crawlies

This is the final post in Arkansas Women Bloggers BLOGtoberfest Week. The Challenge is Foodie Friday. Since my focus is on Fitness, I probably should be writing about my favorite healthy recipes but my focus this week has been drawn to Halloween: how much I love it, how much my family enjoys it and how much we’re looking forward to it. I’ve decided to write about my favorite Halloween Treats.

I’m not a food blogger and I’m pretty sure I’m not a photographer, especially when it comes to food. But I do love to throw parties and to entertain people. For the past several years we have hosted Halloween parties that have gotten progressively larger as the years pass. Each year I try to make at least one new recipe but there are a few treats that kids and adults have come to expect when they come to our house. In fact, the small one has friends who ask for White Chocolate Eyeballs in bulk.

White Chocolate Eyeballs

eyeballs and graveyard

White Chocolate Eyeballs and Pudding Graveyard

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter

1 1/2 cups peanut butter

1 lb powdered sugar

1 tbs vanilla extract

12 oz white chocolate or coating

40 miniature chocolate chips

red food gel

Cream the butter and peanut butter together then add the powdered sugar and vanilla extract, blend thoroughly. Form one inch balls and refrigerate until firm. Melt white chocolate in the microwave, using a toothpick dip each eyeball covering all but a small circle. Place a mini chocolate chip in the center of each eyeball and decorate with red food gel.
Ghosts in the Graveyard

2 pkgs (4 serving size) instant chocolate pudding

3 cups cold milk

1 tub (12 oz) whipped topping divided

15 chocolate sandwich cookies

Decorations: creme sandwich cookies (like Pepperidge Farm Milano), gummy worms, candy pumpkins, gummy skeletons etc. We made the fence for this one out of licorice and used black cat peeps. Grass can be made from cutting fruit rollups.

Pour milk in large bowl, add pudding mixes, beat for 2 minutes let stand for 5 minutes. Gently stir in 3 cups of the whipped topping and half the cookie crumbs. Spread evenly into a 13x9x2 pan. Sprinkle with remaining cookie crumbs.

Decorate the yard!

Mummy Dogs!

I think Mummy Dogs are the one thing we make every single year. The idea is simple, wrap hot dogs in strips of crescent roll dough, bake at 375 for 10-15 minutes or until the dough browns. Add capers for eyeballs. I have no pictures of these  because they get eaten faster than I can make them.

Centipede Calzone

Another fun way to use biscuit dough, spread a biscuit into a larger circle and fill with pizza sauce, cheese, pepperoni, whatever fillings you like and top with another rolled out biscuit. Paint the tops with egg wash and food coloring to make the snake patterns. Use carrot sticks for legs, olives for eyeballs, other veggies for decoration. Bake as biscuit package directs until brown.

Crawly Calzone

Boogers on a Stick

Or Ghosts if you prefer. For boogers, add blue food coloring to Cheez Whiz until it turns green. Dip 1/3 of a pretzel rod into the newly green cheez whiz.

If boogers are too gross for you, dip the pretzel rods in white chocolate, make eyes and mouth with black decorating gel for ghosts.

sticks

Boogers on a stick

HAPPY HAUNTING!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Mummies, Eyeballs and Creepy Crawlies

  1. I love the little white ghost pretzels!

  2. Boogers on a stick! That’s a new one! I’m making “Coffin Cookies” for the kiddlets at our church. Very appropriate!

  3. Adorable! I think if I made all this I might smack anyone who dared mess it up LOL

  4. Pingback: My Family is Walking Dead | Frenetic Fitness

Tell Me What You Think

