Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Blast from the Past

When the Past Post assignment came up for day 4 of Arkansas Women Bloggers BLOGtoberfest, I admit I had no idea what to pull out of my back pocket. I’ve been blogging for years but only recently have I begun to consider what I do “writing”. What was it before?  It was an experiment in journaling, a way to keep far away family updated on what we were doing.

And then it all changed. A huge factor in that life transition was our decision to turn a blog about Playing Outside in Arkansas into an actual website, hoping it might even turn into a business. Last year just before Arkansas Outside.com went live, the spouse asked if I would write for him. “I’m not a writer” says I. “Yes you are” says he. And so it began. It’s been a dirty job, sometimes a very dirty job and I love it.

One of the first things I wrote for AO was about me, my friends, and our inner fitness goddesses, what drives us to do the things we do. A big part of the drive is that the things I love to do for fitness are fun, and sometimes it involves beer and fairy wings.

And eating pie with friends. And it means enjoying some really great places, like the Golden Gate Bridge,  up close and personal in a way no motorized transportation could provide.

Stopping to take a picture before crossing the Golden Gate Bridge

And it gives me reason to empower women, young and old, to Come Ride With Us. The drive to stay fit lets me spend quality time with the ones I love in places I have to hike to see.

I suppose I am a writer. And every time I sit down to allow the words to spill out of my forehead, I hope they are of some use to someone else out there.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

