Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Rocks & Roots

A couple of weeks ago I decided I wanted to take another crack at a longer trail run since I enjoyed the Full Moon Run so much. There is a new 14 mile trail that runs along the Cossatot River Corridor. The description on the Arkansas State Park website describes it as a trail that “winds it’s way through some of the roughest, yet most scenic terrain found in the Ouachita Mountains.”
Yeah I signed up for a half marathon on that trail in 2 weeks. I should start training. So this morning I ran nine miles on the roughest trail I know. Just me, my shadow and the sound of my heart beating. I never use music in the woods. I’m not sure why I find it so intrusive, but I’d rather hear the leaves crunching under my feet and the wind blowing through the trees than the music I listen to when I’m on the road. My husband describes my road running playlists as music that screams at me to go. There is a reason for that. I don’t seem to need that motivation to get over rocks, find the next overlook view or to reach the next ravine. On my running journey today:

There were Tree Roots

20121008-171657.jpg
And Boulders

20121008-171749.jpg
And Mud. Oh my.

20121008-171823.jpg

But there was also blue sky with big puffy clouds framing Pinnacle Mountain.

20121008-173310.jpg

It was a beautiful morning for a run. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go find my foam roller. Stat.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

