Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Goal!

“A goal without a plan is just a wish.” That phrase makes me feel a bit like I’ve been called out by the teacher for giving an assignment less than my best effort. “And a plan without follow through is just a dream.”


For years I have managed to hold on to the delusion that there is “plenty of time” for that. Whatever “that” is on my life.
I wanted to do a triathlon so I did. I followed a training plan concentrated on the swimming portion because that was my weakest area by far. I even went for an open water swim not long before the Tri day. But when the time arrived to put the training to use, the result was disastrous and my recovery from the event is questionable to this day. As in the thought of swimming in a lake gives me heart palpitations and a sweaty upper lip.
I wanted to run a half marathon, so I did. I followed the training plan religiously. The result was much better than the Tri but I left it at one, as though the goal was met and could be crossed off.
I’ve ridden my bike on a couple of  century rides, organized and not so organized. I’ve ridden a few metric centuries too. Training for those  has mostly consisted of riding my bike for fun a lot, not by following a training plan.

Finishing my first 25K

Finishing my first 25K

I tested my mettle and my sanity by doing a 25k trail run at night with no focused training. I relied on my base fitness and regular workouts to carry me through it. It wasn’t great, it wasn’t awful and it did teach me something valuable: I really like to run on the dirt. I mean really. So this fall I’ve decided to make a plan that will hopefully give me what I need to do a few more of those mid distance 10-30K trail runs. I’m hoping for a slightly faster result than my first attempt and with training and proper shoes, less pain. That’s going to take a plan. And a lot of willpower.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Goal!

  1. Good luck!
    Love the quote at the top!

  2. I’ve never ran a trail run. I should probably look into that. Especially so we can stay friends! 🙂

    • Dear Ashten, even if your running shoes never hit the dirt, we’ll be friends. Trail running is different. It takes balance and concentrated foot placement, it’s a mental game of planning where to put your next footfall instead of just thinking about picking up and putting down. I enjoy it for the solitude of the woods and because it keeps me engaged in my environment, my mind rarely wanders from what is right in front of me. Unless I’m with my dog, then I have to wonder where she is all the time too. Luckily it’s usually right on my heel.

Tell Me What You Think

