Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Warrior-Femme Weekend

A jam packed weekend. ANOTHER jam packed weekend. I’ve had 3 in a row. I won’t complain. There are too many people who have nothing to do, no money or time to do it and no one to do it with while I’m out Running With My TRIBE:

Running With My Tribe

Running With My Tribe

On Saturday May 12th, the muddy dreams of many Arkansans were fulfilled when The Warrior Dash production team came to town. The Timber Lodge Ranch in Amity, Arkansas would be the host location. While many Would-Be-Warriors would choose to camp in the area the night before the race, we decided it would serve us better to wake up early and be on our way by 6:30 a.m. We estimated a one hour forty five minute drive and the instructions said plan to be there at least and hour and a half early. Our “flight” time was not until 10 so we assumed we would have plenty of time. I am so glad we gave ourselves that extra wiggle room. Parking took a few minutes, we had to stand in line for buses to take us from parking to the actual event site, the buses were using the same road as the entry for parking so traffic was slow. Within minutes of arriving at the event site, we realized just how well organized this event is. The packet pick up tent had several lines with the packets in alphabetical order. Even later in the day when it got really busy this kept the lines short. They checked ID at the same time and offered wristbands so we didn’t have to worry about showing ID for beer afterward. Next to the packet pick up was a huge tent for checking bags. I had no idea they would do this, I must have missed it in all the info I read beforehand. We were able to check our clean clothes and the event schwag at the tent using our race bib numbers. Convenient! We wandered around checking out the cool costumes. There was a Captain America on our bus, and then we saw an older Captain America. The boy said “Look! It’s Captain America’s Dad.” There was Papa Smurf and Smurfette complete with blue body paint. There was a Silver Streak in our flight with us. I don’t know how he was able to see through the small slits he had in his hood. We decided to go ahead and get in the chute with 20 minutes to spare before our start time. The boy had decided that he wanted to run it as fast as he could. J was wanting to stop to take a few photos along the course and I was caught  wanting something in between. I knew I wouldn’t be able to keep up with the boy so for the first section of trail run and the first two obstacles, I stuck with J. After the second one he looked at me and said, “What are you doing? GO!!” So I did. The next obstacle was a steep wall requiring some upper body strength to use a rope to get over. No problemo. So those push ups and pull ups ARE useful for something.

I'm in the middle with my green Brooks cascadias on my feet

I’m in the middle with my green Brooks cascadias on my feet

 Then came a trudge through a stinky creek about chest deep on me. I waded up to where it was closer to waist high then got over the floating trunks with no problem. Girls: a physics lesson. If the object in the water is free floating, you cannot put your weight on one end of it, jump up, and expect that it won’t tip you right back into the water. Lay your body over that thing and slide to the other side. I could not believe how many women did not get this. Steep hills, barbed wire, net covered tunnels, trenches, more water, cargo nets in both horizontal and vertical positions and then came the fire jumping. Almost everyone has seen photos of the line of tires on fire that has to be jumped. I must say it looks like it takes more effort than it actually did- that was cool. And the final mud-pit. Sticky, ucky, yucky sole sucking mud. While in the pit, I found a lone shoe which I held aloft screaming “I found a trophy!” Not that anyone was listening or could hear me over the music and other noise at the finish. Just as I was coming out of the mud and into the finish the group of girls in front of me just stopped. Like okay, we’re done, nothing to see here. I tried to go around them but they meandered. Oh well. So I have no finish line pictures because I’m blocked in every one of them. That’s okay. I know I finished. And finished Muddy. And Happy. And was ready to get in line and do it again. Official Finish time 44:59:00. Not sure how I managed an exact :00 seconds but cool. The first place overall woman was around 35 minutes so I’ll take 45 for sure. 20th out of 315 women in my age group, okay.  916 place out of 4,973 peoples? I’ll take it.

Warrior Family Finish

But there was no resting after the drive home. I needed to make food for about 25-30 women coming to ride with me on May 13th for Cyclofemme: A celebration honoring Global Women’s Cycling Day. Which is…another story. And it involves sweet temporary tattoos.

Warrior-Femme

Warrior-Femme

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

