Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

The Adventures of Other People

It’s getting busy round here. In addition to all the “normal” hubub, I’m wishing I could clone myself so that on the weekends I could get my own training in AND go out and cover stories about all the other cool events and races going on. Managing time so that I can do it all seems like an impossible task. I spend a lot of time watching, photographing, cheering and writing about other people’s adventures.

Instead of blogging I’ve been out doing stuff like climbing Pinnacle Mountain before dawn to take photos of people doing that 50K/ 50Mile race I “thought” I wanted to do. On no training. I’m not sure if I’m glad the opportunity to photograph it became more important than doing it when the regular photog had a family emergency. I really think I’d like to give events like this one a try.

This is my favorite photo that doesn’t have people in it, just as the sun was rising and the racers hadn’t made it up the boulders:

Coming up over this boulder scramble from the East was the first real test of what would be a very long day for some, a matter of a few hours for others. Either way I really appreciated those who took the time to mug for my camera, they made me laugh.

He's got a little Cap'n in 'im.

So fitness for that day was confined to the climb up the West Summit, which took less than 30 minutes for me, even in the darkness of  5:30 a.m in the forest. While waiting for the first finishers to come off the trail for the short road section to the finish, I entertained myself (and probably a few others) with lunges, squats and pushups on the sidewalk.

That afternoon I drove out to Perryville just in time to watch my husband finish 58 miles of Forest Service Road racing in the Slobberknocker. I was so glad I made it there in time to see him finish even though it meant leaving the Ouachita race before even 1/2 the racers had finished, I do have priorities. And I got to take this photo:

While life is hectic and crazy and manic and chaotic I must remember that a full life is never boring and I am thankful that I am able to do all that I do, even if I sometimes complain that I don’t have enough time for myself. And I have to remember that I am having my own adventures, even when it seems I’m helping others live and document theirs.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

