Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Workin’ Out or Training?

Last week I said I was thinking about doing a certain race. A person close by said “have you trained for that?” Well no, actually, I don’t know that I ever call what I do training. I rarely stick to one activity long enough to call it training. When I feel like running, I run. When I feel like lifting, I lift. When I feel like circuits, I circuit. And when I feel like riding, I ride. I don’t have a schedule that says how many miles I’m going to do on a particular day. I do what I want. Training schedules aren’t the boss of me.

That being said, I took off and did 16 miles of trail “running” on a recent day. It took me 4 hours. I think that qualifies as speed hiking more than running but so be it, it’s a tough rocky rooty and sometimes steep trail. It made me realize that I’d like to do a 20k soon. And I’d like to be able to do a 50K, but I think I should get some more long trail work in before I commit to one. Heck, I might just go out and do it one day just to say I did. Cause I’m rebellious like that.

I stopped to take this photo about 13.5 miles into my run, I call it: The Honeysuckle Points the Way.

I stopped at a recently renovated trail head at my favorite urban Arkansas State Park, Pinnacle Mountain. This is: My Peace Portal.

I’ve totally lost track of my workout log but I’ve been running and biking a lot more than my usual morning circuit workouts. The opportunities have come up, the weather’s been nice and I’ve jumped at the chance to go play outside more. I’ve been trail running/hiking a LOT. I’ve put in close to 30 miles of trail and another 30 on the mountain bike in less than a week. I’ve missed a few mornings and had to rely on some help from my DVD pal Bob Harper’s Inside Out Method and I did keep hold of a couple of circuits from the past week too.

Circuit day 1-

4 Rounds:

  • Line Drill
  • jump rope x 125
  • plate push x 45lb x 20yds
  • push ups x 25
  • box jumps x 20
  • body squats x 25
  • mountain climbers x 50
  • situps x 20

Circuit day 2-

5 Round for time:

  • 15 wall balls x 10lb
  • 12 thrusters x 45lb
  • 125 jump rope
  • 20 dips with a25lb
  • 30 yds lunges with 20lb DB

time 24:39   then a nice long CORE

2 lift days:

  • dumbbell incline press 4 x 8 x 25lb
  • upright rows 4 x 10 x 25lb
  • bench press 3 x 10 x 65,75,85lb
  • cable row 3 x 10 x 40lb
  • standing military press 3 x 8 x 25lb
  • dips 3 x 12 with 25lb plate in lap
  • 21’s x 2 x 12lb
  • flexed arm hang for time x 2 (13 and 15 seconds)

and

  • bench press 10 x 75, 8 x 85, 6 x 95, 4 x 105lb
  • lat pulldown 4 x 10 x 70lb
  • cable crossover 3 x 10 x 30lb
  • single arm db row 3 x 8 x 30lb
  • 6 way shoulder press 3 x 8 x 10lb
  • tricep pressdown 3 x 12 x 35lb
  • plate curl medley from 12 counts- 1 count x 15lb
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Workin’ Out or Training?

  1. Pingback: Cool Stuff To Read and Watch… — Arkansas Outside

Tell Me What You Think

