Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Springtime in the South

I know Spring has arrived. How? Because my eyes itch, my ears are popping, everyone has the symptoms of a cold so we’re going through more kleenex than the world used while watching Wills and Kate get hitched.

And because I’m spending a lot of time outside in shorts. My running  jackets and lined cycling  jerseys were hardly worn this year due to the unseasonable warm winter. And here comes Spring, bringing with it 80 degree days. I’m dreading August. But I do love to play outside so the weather this weekend was perfect for a lot of outdoor fun.

Saturday morning I got up early, and forced the small one to get up to despite the fact that she was  not feeling well. But I needed her help. I was signed up to run in the 3rd leg of the Arkansas Trail Running series at 10 a.m. but first I needed/wanted to watch and take pictures of the Capital City 10K. This race has been going on for more than 20 years. I can’t believe I’ve never run it. Well actually I can. It’s a flat out and back course in an area not exactly known for scenery. Really not my kind of run but next year, I think I’ll try to do it. I needed to get as many photos as possible of the 10k and get back  across the river to the park where the trail run would start. I had a plan. If I parked on the south bank of the river at Two Rivers Bridge, rode my bike to the 10K, took pics for the first hour and hightailed it back to the car I could skip all the traffic of those parked on the road for the 10K and skirt over north to Burns Park for the trail run in time to beat the packet pick up cut off. It worked. The small one chose to sit at Two Rivers Bridge reading while I biked to the 10K. But she was happy to turn into the photographer so the sick little bird took these fantastic photos for me at the trail run. Much appreciated.

The First Hill

The Finish

but this was a beautiful moment…

momeeeeeeeee

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

