Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

It’s Supposed To Be Fun, Right?

Somewhere in the middle of one of Bob Harper’s DVDs he comments that working out is “supposed to be fun” which is followed quickly by a very sarcastic “yeah right”.  But the truth is, when most people choose an activity they do so because it’s FUN. That includes athletic or workout activities too. I like to jog. On road, on trail, I find peace there. But I am SLOW. When I say jog, I mean jog. I’m not out there running 8 minute miles much less 6. I’m not competitive at any level. I do it because I like to.  I like to ride my bikes. On road, on trail, I find peace there too. But trying to keep up a hammerfest for 40 miles is not my idea of fun. So I take my sub 20 mph rides and love them despite their resemblance to what would be leisurely spins for most of the people I know. I like circuit training. I’m not always the first one done with a tough 4 rounds of whatever hell is on the board for the day, but I get it done, and I enjoy it. Yeah, I’m still about 10 lbs over the weight I should be but honestly, I’m probably in as good a shape as I’ve ever been. Because I have never ever cared about being a competitive athlete. I just want to go all bad 80’s movie on the running scene and scream “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” over and over while jogging 10 minute miles.

This need for finding the joy in my fitness endeavors is sometimes tough to explain to the other people in my life. It is especially tough to be surrounded by incredible athletes, by choice of friends/favorite people on the planet and by reason of our side-business. So today I am reminding myself of why I love where I live, why I love my bikes, why I love my arsenal of Brooks running shoes and why I love my husband. Who just shakes his head at me and says “get to it”  when I’ve lost “the joy” and need to find it again.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

