Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Diet versus Exercise

There is no exercise routine that can combat a bad diet. Period. We know this. I know this.

Last week the weekend started off with a nice Friday off for me. It was the last weekday of Spring Break for the small one and we had a day of eating and shopping planned. Lunch at Argenta Market where I had a Cuban sandwich and we shared this key lime pie

And then I had plans to meet the girls later at Crush Wine Bar and then dinner at Gypsy’s Dizzy Bistro where I ate this dish that has at least a stick of butter and a pint of cream in it:

I had my morning workout though. But I would have had to have run a half marathon and spent another hour or two on the bike to make up for what I ate and drank. For a person who really loves good food and loves to cook, it is still a struggle to choose healthier meals outside my kitchen and honestly, I don’t always enjoy worrying with how healthy the meals I cook are. It takes time and planning. Things I’m not great at. But I’m trying. And I have to start trying harder because the effects of my lack of self control are showing in my family. So I have to set a goal. My goal is to spend one day each week making out a menu plan and shopping list for healthy meals. And Sundays are for prep. I have to be willing to set aside some time each Sunday to chop, precook, package and all that jive. Wish me luck.

Workouts for this week:

Sunday- Trail running and walking with the dog. I quit counting at 5 miles.

Monday: warm up and strength move Hang Clean 5 x 8 x 65lb

4 rounds

  • pullups x 12 (band assisted)
  • plyo press jumps x 15 x 135lb
  • box walk (24″, 18″,12″,6″ and ground) x 5 push ups on ea, hands on box- then feet on box (45 pushups each round)
  • yo yo x 12
  • hanging knee tucks x 25
  • 400m run

Tuesday: warm up

  • ladder drills x 10 minutes

core circuit x 2 rounds 30sec work:25sec rest

  • floor wipers x 85lb
  • seated twists x 10lb
  • toe touches x 10lb
  • right plank
  • left plank
  • bicycle
  • decline sit ups with 8lb med ball
  • plank
  • flutterkicks
  • full sit up

finish with Animal drills: crab walk forward and backward, duck walk forward and backward, spiderman crawl, inchworm each x 20 yds

Thursday a.m.: warm up and strength Leg Press 4 x 10, 135, 150, 165, 180lb and partnered glute hamstring raises.

4 rounds: 1 min continuous clock, 1 minute rest at end of each round

  • wall ball 10lb
  • kettlebell swing 30lb
  • box jump 18″
  • push press 45lb
  • situps

p.m. short run, about 2 miles and yoga stretching. Those glute ham raises are killers.

Saturday: 45 miles of cycling, 3700 ft of elevation gain. Yes.

A stop along the way to enjoy the view on top of Ft. Roots

Just one of many beautiful views along the River Trail

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

