Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Bikes and Box Jumps

I felt the need for a stretch after spending so many hours in the car on Friday and Saturday so Sunday was a long dog walk day and Monday was yoga day.

Tuesday

4 rounds for time

  • box jumps x 15 x 18″
  • mountain climbers x 30
  • backpedal run outside 200m
  • kettle bell swings 15 x 30lb
  • push up x 12
  • body squat x 20

I was on my way to a sub 20 minute finish when in the 3rd round, someone stabbed me in the calf with an ice pIck. Not literally of course, but that’s what if felt like. So I continued with the swings, push ups and squats, added in an upright row and some inverted rows by working in with a group that was “lifting”. And then I went home to get an ice pAck.

Wednesday: Giant Superset Lift Day

  1. pullups 3 x 10 (band assist)
  2. bench press 3 x 10 x 75lb
  3. bentover row 3 x 10 x 55lb
  4. dumb bell incline press 3 x 10 x 25lb
  1. stability ball push hops 3 x 6
  2. dumb bell single arm row 3 x 10 x 30lb
  3. feet up push ups (18″ box) 3 x 10
  4. inverted row 3 x 10
  1. straight bar curls 3 x 10 x 45lb
  2. cable extensions 3 x 10 x 40lb

4 minute shoulders, all isometric work: palm foward, palm back, forward/back, goal post, etc.

Thursday I arrived at the gym to see on the board: 20 min jump rope. I thought oh okay, 20 minutes straight of jumping rope, this is going to kill the calf. But that wasn’t the whole story. It was still only 20 minutes but every 30-40 seconds a call would go out- 15 pushups or 30 jumping jacks or 30 mountain climbers or do 20 yards of inchworm! You get the idea. Fast fast fast, get back to the rope. It was an excellent short workout.

Friday: 5k run/jog in the beautiful afternoon weather

Saturday J and I went down to one of our favorite mountain bike trails in Central Arkansas to shoot photos of the Spa City 6 hour Mountain Bike Race at Cedar Glades trail. After 6 hours of running around taking photos, and trying to help out riders with handups or getting food to them quickly when the opportunity arose, we took a 10 mile ride ourselves on those beautiful trails. I can’t say enough about the crew that builds and maintains those trails. I really have to ride there more often, I was having a fantastic ride but could tell that I haven’t been riding enough by the way my legs felt after less than 1 lap of the course that the winners of the Men’s group made 7 laps of in less than 6  hours. Of course the top 3 were pro riders, none of them from Arkansas. But the women’s group winners did have some local ladies, there were several 5 and 6 lap finishers. I’d be able to do 2, maybe 3 but 5 is out of the question. Now that we have more hours of daylight, maybe I can start working on my bike fitness again after work.

Perhaps this cartoon version of me  on one of the many bridges on the Cedar Glades trail will inspire me to ride for joy.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

