Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Run Thru History : Vicksburg

Friends Post Ride: Vicksburg Military Park

Saturday March 3 is the 33rd annual Run Thru History at Vicksburg National Military Park. I’ll travel the 4 hours or so from my home on Friday afternoon and spend some time getting to know my sweet friends C and M’s foster sons that just came to live with them a few months ago. I was in Vicksburg last for the Over the River Run in October. At that time, they were reeling from the loss of a foster child that had too many issues to stay in their home and they were beginning to lose hope after months of lots of work and little progress in building the family they’ve wanted so badly. I’m looking forward to meeting the little buggers who have completely captivated my friends’ hearts. I think they might finally have the family they were suppose to have all along. I wish I had time to ride my bike thru the park again on this trip but I have a feeling I won’t since I plan to run, have lunch and head back home so I can go cheer for friends at the Little Rock Marathon on Sunday morning.

The Arkansas Memorial in Military Park

In preparation I had my 5 mile hilly run from Sunday followed by a big fat goose egg for exercise on Monday.

Tuesday: general warm up followed by active warm up Hang Cleans 4 x 6 x 65lb

3 Rounds of 30 sec work: 20 sec rest (and move to next station)

  • kettlebell swing  30lb
  • box jump 24″
  • inverted row
  • burpees
  • explosive push ups
  • jump rope
  • kneeling medicine ball toss
  • treadmill sprint at 15% incline (7.5mph)

Wednesday Morning: warm up

  • bench press 4 x 8  (1 x 75, 1 x 85, 2 x 95)
  • lat pulldown 3 x 8 x 80lb
  • single arm dumb bell row 3 x 10 x 20lb
  • curl to press 3 x 8 x 15lb
  • tricep pressdown 3 x 10 x ?
  • ez bar curls 2 x 10 with a trainer providing manual resistance during the curl and the release. Fun.

Wednesday Night: 17 mile fat knobby tire bike ride with 2 miles of flatout fun singletrack and the rest on the road

Thursday: warm up

  • 30 burpees with push ups
  • 50 floor wipers x 75lb
  • 1200m run
  • 75 push press x 45lb
  • 150 dbl unders OR 600 jump ropes. I admit, I have no jump. I did the 600.

Hope to have pics and a race report from the Run Thru History and possibly pictures from the Little Rock Marathon up on Sunday.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

