Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Rollerblading Without Cracking my Asphalt

I’m playing catch up with the “fitness” part of frenetic fitness after a week fraught with issues surrounding my parenting skills, lack of said parenting skills, cupcake capers, hurried dinners and a busy time at work.

Roll On

Monday afternoon was so pretty that I decided to take on a challenge and pull out the rollerblades I hadn’t used in a couple of years at least. Me and my blades headed down to the River Trail where it’s almost flat, more flat than my neighborhood anyway, and were there are sidewalks. Once I got going I realized that to get any time/distance in I would either have to skate back and forth in a small area or risk skating down to the area where construction has made a temporary asphalt trail a necessity. A trail with cracks, holes, gravel spew, and some weird hills that seem out of place but are there to get the trail out of the way of the construction I guess. As I wobbled under the construction for the new West ramp of the cycling/pedestrian bridge I could swear that some of the men stopped working to watch. Surely I was going to bust my behind any second, I think they had started a pool on just where I would lose it. I was coming up on a steep hill that turns sharply onto a wooden bridge, a tricky place even on a bike so I could sense their tension. Or was it gleeful anticipation? But I made it. It’s all in the knees my friends, all in the knees. Coming back up that hill was another story. I’m hoping the video is not on youtube. I’m sure I looked like one of those walking catfish trying to step my blades sideways up that impossible incline. 6 miles of rollerblading, done!

Wednesday: Warm up

Bench Press 10 x 65lb,8 x 75lb,6 x 85lb,4 x 95lb,2  x 105lb

Dumb bell row 3 x 10 x 20lb

Barbell curl 3 x 10 x 45lb

Overhead extension 3 x 10 x 25lb

Front raise 3 x 10 x 15lb

Lateral raise 3 x 10 x 15lb

Cable Crossover 3 x 8 x ?

Upright row 3 x 10 x 45lb

CORE!

and Wednesday afternoon: 4.5 mile run

Thursday: 25 minutes. 1 set every minute on the minute. IF you complete all 36 reps before the minute is up, you have what’s left to rest. We averaged 10 sec rest each set

12 each Pushups, Squat Jumps, and Full Sit Ups = 1 set.

Friday: feeling a bit fatigued so I walked hills on the treadmill. Random intervals at 3.7-4.0 mph, 4-8% incline.

Saturday I spent the day at the Crosswinds Classic Road Bike Race taking a few hundred photos and getting a bit sunburned before going home to try to clean up the disaster area that is my back yard.

Sunday: 5 miles of hills. Hills. Every hill I could find in my neighborhood and there are plenty.  And more yard work. Followed by pizza and beer, hoping it will help sliding into Monday easier. But it doesn’t.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

