Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

I Let Her Drive Away

Her First Solo Car Trip

I saw the sun set low on that skyline
Day was gone I was out of time
As I let her walk out and say goodbye
And I sat there on that street askin’ why
I let her drive away….

Lyrics: Drive Away by the Eli Young Band
This week has been packed. So packed and busy that there is no way that it started with a 3 day weekend. No way. The week seemed to fly, headlong into Thursday, the anniversary of the small one’s birth. I tried to leave work early to pick her up so we could go get her permanent license squared away. Then we headed downtown to pick up her birthday cupcakes and get to the restaurant for her dinner party. Because of the timing of a school program, she would only be present at her own party for about an hour. So after dinner, as we waited on the check and continued to chat as the sun set, she drove away from me, by herself, all alone, without me there to fake slam on the non existent brakes on my side of the car or hit the door frame with my hand in terror, or scream “watch out, slow down, look where you’re going”. And she made it the 3.5 city blocks to her destination where she immediately called to let us know she made it without incident. The day was gone and I was out of time to treat her like my little girl.
Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

