Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Weekend Warrior-ette part deux

Who needs bridges?

After doing  this on Saturday, the day dawned glorious and sunny for Sunday. So me and my favorite riding partner had to go reintroduce ourselves to our much neglected mountain bikes and head to a local park for a few miles of riding in the dirt. Some of the low lying areas were still wet and muddy from the rains last week but for the most part, the trails were in great shape and I had probably one of the most enjoyable rides I’ve had in a long time. Sometimes after a bad ride, I have a hard time getting back on the bike. Or going back to the trail that lives in infamy even if it’s only in my mind. The trails at this particular park have been recently revamped and added on to. As with any trail system, it takes time for the dirt to get packed in, the rocks to give way a bit and for good lines to become more obvious. These trails are getting there. Flow, swoop, dirt, mud, gravel, whoop de doos. This makes me smile. Even when my feet are wet and muddy. Maybe especially when I’m wet and muddy.

this bike needs a bath

But by Monday afternoon I was feeling peevy. A bit of a sore throat. So even though I gathered my workout clothes and lay them out like the good girl I am, I did not get up to work out on Tuesday and I’m pretty sure I’m in for some couch and blankie time. Instead I’ll have to be satisfied with what I did accomplish before whatever is going on in my sinuses kicked my butt.  Like the herbed cheese spread I shared with my coworkers Monday. And the 10 dozen truffles, 8 dozen cookies and 7 loaves of sweet potato cranberry bread I’ve made to share with friends. Let’s just hope I didn’t share all my germs too. Yeah, the couch is sounding better and better. Wednesday brings with it another beautiful weather day, perfect to be outside but I’m looking at it through our picture window. I’ve got my kleenex, my theraflu, nyquil, ibuprofen and a kid who makes a mean cup of hot cocoa. This stuffy head and 101 fever is going DOWN.  It won’t beat me! Okay, maybe it will for a day or 2, but then it’s back on like Donkey Kong. I’m going to go lie down now.

Naughty or Nice list is complete

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Weekend Warrior-ette part deux

  1. That looks like a nice fun romp in the mud. The Snowman Poop made me crack up.

Tell Me What You Think

