Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

A Week of WODs

Monday came dark and early when the alarm went off at 4:45 a.m. It was still dark and early when I finally got out from under the covers at 5:05 a.m. to stagger toward my pile of gym clothes awaiting me on the bathroom floor where I’d be sure to trip over them in my stupor.

4 Rounds:

  • high wall balls x 20 (10lb)
  • pullups x 15
  • walking lunges with bicep curl x 20 (12lb)
  • push up x 30
  • 400 m run outside
  • kettlebell swings x 25 (35lb)

Ended Monday afternoon with a 40 minute elliptical to stretch out and get a little no impact cardio in.

Tuesday another dark and early morning.  Warm up was the usual routine PLUS: 4 x 6 deadlift (95lb)

4 Rounds:

  • push press x 12 (55lb)
  • burpees
  • situps x 20
  • plate push x 40 yds (25lb)
  • single arm DB row x 8 (30lb)
  • floor wipers (55lb)
  • ending with a good Core session

Wednesday = rest day

Thursday 4 Rounds:

  • lunges with DB x 20yds (15lb)
  • explosive pushups x 20
  • mountain climbers x 50
  • plyo press jumps x 10 (120% BW)
  • bicep curls x 10 (15lb)
  • hang clean x 8 (65lb)
  • ending with another good Core session

Friday. For the 3rd time this week I would be the only one at the gym at 5:30 a.m. This is not good. My girlfriends might need a swift kick.

The Friday WOD

Our trainer (also a Joe like my hubby, that gets confusing sometimes when talking about workouts) led me in a nice long stretch session after today’s workout because a) I haven’t been doing that enough and b) I really needed it for the weekend ahead.

Now I have to get ready to run. I haven’t been running. Or jogging. But my spouse was going up to photograph a trail running event. I could stay home and bake, or do Christmas crafts or eat. Or I could tag along. But why just tag along when I could get a workout in? So I signed up to run (jog) 4.2 miles in the dirt (mud) tomorrow. It will deserve its own post I’m sure.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

