Frenetic Fitness

fre·net·ic /frəˈnetɪk/ done very fast and with a lot of energy, often by someone who is in a hurry.

Scramble This

Up and more Up

I love a good scramble. I like the kind with eggs but I love the kind with gnarly rocks, roots or other obstacles along a trail. This picture was taken 6 years ago, on Christmas Day in the midst of a great rock scramble. This is my preferred route to the summit of Pinnacle Mountain in Little Rock. With connections off the Ouachita Trail, the base trail around the mountain and 2 choices for the summit, not to mention the availability of the 7 miles of mountain bike trail or the shorter trails nearer the visitor’s center, the variety of routes is almost endless. Saturday I used one of my favorite routes with a time goal in mind. During the days when I was able to do this route 3 times a month or more, I was getting it close to 1 hour and 15 minutes. Saturday I managed 5 miles with the 700 ft gain in the middle over the top of the mountain, around the base trail and back to the steep uphill to the visitor center in 1 hour 32 minutes, with 2 photo stops and one stop for a turned ankle (Don’t look up from the trail dummy). The temperature was perfect, low 40s and sunny. The trail ducks in and out of what is left of the shade and there was still quite a bit of mud from the rains during the week. I left the headphones at home and enjoyed the quiet of the woods all alone for the first mile on the Ouachita Trail section and saw my first people at the trailhead of the East Summit. I caught up to a guy who was just ahead of me on the scramble. He asked “are you training for something?”. Nope, “this is just something I like to do, for fun” is the answer.

Single Post Navigation

Tell Me What You Think

